Everyday Style, Tips & Tricks

How to Overcome a Haute Mess Day

Hey, lovelies! Welcome back to Talk Fabulous!

Today has been crazy. First, I discovered we have no filter MissyAnn…. Yikes. Second, my hair is wild and I don’t have any tools to calm it here at work . Third, I thought it would help if I sprayed a little perfume on. Instead, I sprayed A LOT on and now I feel like everyone is secretly cursing me in their cubes. What’s a girl to do?

First, take a few deep breathes and find your center. Simply be still for a few moments. Then, let’s turn this day around.

Find a friend

The therapeutic benefits of talking out your feelings is undeniable. Sometimes even just talking with someone about anything is helpful. So, find a friend to talk with. People are not too busy to have a 5 minute convo with you especially if they know you’re having a day.

Go for a walk

Just getting up and moving around is sometimes all you need to turn the day around. The simple act of a walk has magical powers to clear ones mind. There have been times I’ve stared at a problem for hours, only to get up, walk a few steps, and the solution comes to me. If you can catch some rays, all the better. Feeling the sun on our skin for even a few moments can have a profound effect on our mood.

Powder your nose

I mean this one quite literally. Grab your makeup bag and head to the restroom. Have yourself a mini self-care session. Touch up your makeup and reapply your lipstick. This does wonders for your confidence. The more confident you feel, the better!

Listen to music

Nothing can get me out of a funk like listening to my favorite tunes. So, grab some headphones and turn on your favorite playlist. You’ll be feeling better in no time!

Find some solitude

Sometimes we just need a little alone time in a spot where no one can find us. We just need to be by ourself. Again, this doesn’t have to be for hours on end. At times, a few minutes to completely disconnect from our surroundings is just what the doctor ordered. I’m lucky at my work that we have a few rooms sprinkled around campus for just that purpose. Complete with a comfy chair and dimmable lights, it’s a great place to relax for a moment. If you don’t have something like that, a unfrequented part of the office works well. I’ve also seeked solitude in my car. That works great too.

What are your tips for overcoming a bad day? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below!

That’s all for today. Have a fabulous day, lovelies!

lylas,

MissyAnn

Leave a comment